The Malaysian Grand Prix 2015

17 April


The F1 Malaysian Grand Prix has been listed in the Formula One World Championship since 1999.

It has been officially known as the Malaysia Grand Prix since 2011. It is held at the Sepang International Circuit, annually.

The year 2015 is the 17th year of Formula One in Malaysia and was hosted from March 27th to March 29th. As usual the first day was free practice, the second for the qualifying race, and 29th March, the final day or race day.

Of all the Grand Prix tours on the F1 calendar so far this year, the Malaysian Grand Prix was one of the best in terms of value for money vis a vis the price of accommodation and tickets to Malaysia. There was also the spectacular experience of viewing the Grand Prix from the Sepang International Circuit, which is built in a unique architectural style to resemble a stadium. It is nestled in a valley which makes it easy to see nearly half of all the events at all times, irrespective of where you sit.

From 2011 to 2018, Petronas are the sponsors for the Malaysian Grand Prix. This year also saw the best of the best competing in the F1. Ferrari had Sebastian Vettel and Kimi Raikkonen behind the wheel. Daniel Ricciardo and Daniil Kvyat headed the Red Bull Racing team. Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton were driving the Mercedes team. Romain Grosjean led Lotus along with Pastor Maldonado. Marcus Ericsson was behind the Sauber team, as was Felipe Nasr. Sergio Perez and Nico Hulkenberg drove Force India. Fernando Alonso and Jenson Button were behind the wheels for McLaren. Toro Rosso had Carlos Sainz Jr and Max Verstappen to drive. Williams had Felipe Massa and Valtteri Bottas.

The Malaysian Grand Prix was won by Team Ferrrari driven by Vettel. Mercedes and Hamilton, though hot on the heels of Ferrari, could not pull off a win this year. Kimi Raikkonen finished fourth after an unfavourable start. He not only had a puncture but also missed qualifying for the top 10. Felipe Nasr of Sauber set the record of the fourth quickest lap of the day but had to drop out due to technical problems with his car. Verstappen, as a 17-year-old, became the youngest F1 driver ever to score points by securing the seventh place.

The cars of Red Bull had problems in the torrid heat with high brake temperatures which contributed to Ricciardo finishing in the tenth place and his teammate, Daniil Kvyat, faring slightly better. Both the Force India drivers were penalized, one for tipping a car into a spin (Nico Hulkenberg) and the other (Perez) for running into the side of another car in the middle of a turn. However, both the Force India cars reached the finishing line.

It seems, with the Malaysian Grand Prix, that Hamilton and the Mercedes team have a real contender in Vettel and Ferrari, which will see more competition blazing between them in all the future F1 events of the year.

Share this article